Project

Project

A journey of 1000 miles begins with the first step.

With the desire to become a good doctor, Dr. Okae began his medical studies at the Charité in Berlin in 2002. Four years later he returned to Ghana with a scholarship from the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) for a malaria project.
“It was only this direct comparison of the two countries that made me aware of how inadequate medical care is in my home country,” says the now 38-year-old father of five children. The impressions from Ghana led to his decision to make a contribution in his home country to improve the situation:
Dr. Okae decided to build a model hospital in a suburb of the capital Accra/Ghana.
To fulfill his dream, he started to save money. “My apartment in the student residence was nice and cheap, and parties were never my thing anyway,” he says with a smile.
In 2010 the time had come. He bought a plot of land in a suburb of Accra and started building the hospital in 2011. Since then, a lot has already been set in motion.
Dr. Okae organizes most of it from Dortmund and regularly sends sea containers with building materials and furniture to his home country. For example, he and his small team were allowed to remove windows, doors, handrails and an emergency power generator in German hospitals and send them to Ghana by sea container. He has already received a great deal of support within Germany.
But he has also received medical donations in kind, such as medical instruments and medical technology that are no longer approved in Germany, from helpful colleagues.

On-site construction supervision in Ghana is the responsibility of his friend, engineer Dr. Eric Ofosu Antwi. Mr. Marco Päffgen-Schmidt has been responsible for project coordination and management since early 2020. His sister Dr. Okaes also keeps an eye on the construction site.
But Dr. Okae prefers to be on site himself. At least once a year he flies to Ghana to tackle the work himself and to push the construction site forward. In the past years Dr. Okae has already invested about 400.000 € in his project. In order to save this amount, he has spent many days and nights in emergency medical service.

The aim of the project is to have up to 100 employees (doctors, nurses and carers) in the new hospital in Ghana to take over the health care of the people. However, since not only the hospital beds and equipment are lacking in Ghana, but also the skilled personnel, Dr. Okae will return to Ghana with his family once the hospital is operational. “I am aware that it is a very long way to the goal. But a journey of 1000 miles begins with the first step,” says the father of five children confidently.

Projekt

Projekt

Eine Reise von 1000 Meilen beginnt mit dem ersten Schritt.

Mit dem Wunsch, ein guter Arzt zu werden, begann Herr Dr. Okae 2002 sein Medizinstudium an der Charité in Berlin. Vier Jahre später kehrte er mit einem Stipendium vom DAAD (Deutscher akademischer Austausch-Dienst) für ein Malaria-Projekt nach Ghana zurück.
„Erst dieser direkte Vergleich beider Länder hat mir bewusst gemacht, wie unzureichend die medizinische Versorgung in meinem Heimatland ist“, sagt der heute 38-jährige Vater von fünf Kindern. Die Eindrücke aus Ghana führten zu seinem Entschluss, einen Beitrag in seinem Heimatland zu leisten, um die Situation zu verbessern:
Herr Dr. Okae nahm sich vor, ein Muster-Krankenhaus in einem Vorort der Hauptstadt Accra/Ghana zu bauen.
Um sich seinen Traum zu erfüllen, fing er an zu sparen. „Meine Wohnung im Studentenwohnheim war schön billig, und Partys waren eh nie mein Ding“, sagt er lächelnd.
Im Jahr 2010 war es dann soweit. Er kaufte ein Grundstück in einem Vorort von Accra und begann im Jahr 2011 mit dem Bau des Krankenhauses. Seitdem ist bereits Vieles in Gang gekommen.
Das meiste organisiert Herr Dr. Okae von Dortmund aus und schickt regelmäßig Seecontainer mit Baumaterialien und Mobiliar in sein Heimatland. Er durfte mit seinem kleinen Team zum Beispiel Fenster, Türen, Handläufe und ein Notstromaggregat in deutschen Kliniken ausbauen und per Seecontainer nach Ghana schicken. So hat er bereits wertvolle Unterstützung innerhalb Deutschlands erhalten.
Aber auch medizinische Sachspenden wie in Deutschland nicht mehr zugelassene medizinische Instrumente und Medizintechnik hat er bereits von hilfsbereiten Kollegen bekommen.

Die Bauaufsicht vor Ort in Ghana hat sein Freund, der Ingenieur Dr. Eric Ofosu Antwi. Für Projektkoordination und – Management ist seit Anfang 2020 Herr Marco Päffgen-Schmidt verantwortlich. Auch die Schwester Dr. Okaes hat ein Auge auf die Baustelle.
Am liebsten aber ist es Herrn Dr. Okae, wenn er selber vor Ort sein kann. Mindestens einmal im Jahr fliegt er nach Ghana, um selber anzupacken und die Baustelle voran zu treiben. In den vergangenen Jahren hat Herr Dr. Okae bereits ca. 400.000 € in sein Projekt gesteckt. Um diese Summe anzusparen, ist er unter anderem viele Tage und Nächte im notärztlichen Dienst im Einsatz gewesen.

Angestrebtes Ziel des Projektes ist, dass in dem neuen Krankenhaus in Ghana bis zu 100 Mitarbeiter (Ärzte, Krankenschwestern und Pfleger) die gesundheitliche Versorgung der Menschen übernehmen. Da in Ghana jedoch nicht nur die Krankenbetten und Geräte, sondern auch die Fachkräfte fehlen, wird Herr Dr. Okae mit seiner Familie nach Ghana zurückkehren, wenn das Krankenhaus in Betrieb genommen ist. „Es ist mir bewusst, dass es ein sehr langer Weg zum Ziel ist. Aber eine Reise von 1000 Meilen beginnt mit dem ersten Schritt“, sagt der Vater von fünf Kindern zuversichtlich.